When did you leave Neverland?

Also in the papers today, nearly half of Brits say they are like Peter Pan, stating they didn’t feel like a responsible grown up until they turned twenty-five. Were you the same? Is twenty-five the true beginning of adulthood?

Peter Pan was my hero as a child, I actually thought I could fly, could hear his crowing and even visited my bemused dentist with a wee (fake) dagger tucked in to my belt.

By the time I had hit 16 my first love had whisked me away from Neverland and introduced me to his plans of marriage and children. I went along with them and added in my own adult plans like higher education and starting my own business.

I missed out on a lot of the teen things that I should have been spending my time on and I often feel that I wish I had slowed down and enjoyed those years more.

The last year or so I have felt that a little of that girl is coming back, that a part of me is acting like a nutty teen. Hearing about this story its starting to make sense of why I am feeling like this and I intend to make sure I have some time to be the little girl that I once was with my hero pinned up on my wall to remind me that I am only 23 years old and have at least 2 years until I need to officially be a grown up!

Quote from This Mornings Facebook page

Comments
11 Responses to “When did you leave Neverland?”
  1. Sometimes it just happens without you noticing….

    Growing up can be fun though, 40 is the new 25!

    BW,
    Lesley x.

  2. mikaela says:

    I love this! every-time isee peter pan i think of you. I’ve grown to love him the more i grow up. x

    • myrustyhalos says:

      Aw, yeh I was Peter Pan for a while lol

      I can understand the loving him more as you grow up, we want to take on all this responsibility when we’re wee and I thought that meant that I had to leave Neverland behind. Not any more!!! I’m Peter Pan again lol xx

  3. mary mackay says:

    “dont think anyone knew how old he was so we can all take our time. you never know he might be sitting on your windowsill any time xxxx

  4. Beccah says:

    I think that I’m sort of the opposite to this. I spent my childhood and teenage years just waiting to have the freedom to grow up. Met my first love at 15 and had a baby a little over a year later. We now have two more children and are getting married next year. Most of my brain is full of baby things, knitting, bills and tea, and I feel like it couldn’t have come fast enough. I don’t know what I would do without all this – I don’t really want to do the youthful things that my peers are doing. In fact, my older sister (20 years my senior) is probably a lot more youthful than me. Perhaps I am boring! 😀

    • myrustyhalos says:

      I was/am actually very similar to you! I wanted to have the freedom that growing up brought and couldn’t wait to have a family. Sometimes I feel like it would’ve been nice if i’d had a year or two longer without responsibilities to worry about though when I had the chance as a teen I wasn’t interested in doing the youthful things either. I really don’t know what I’d do without my little girl to keep me going every day. We can be boring together lol though I think we’re probably far from it x

Leave a Reply

